Welcome to the world of Music TJ!

Berlin Update – One year on

Saturday marked exactly a year since I moved to Berlin, so I figured I should write an update of some sort.

On the 1st of August 2014, I hopped on a one way flight out of Heathrow, and was met in Berlin by two friends of mine, Sandra and Christina. Scared out of my mind and thoroughly excited, we jumped in a taxi, which took me to my new home in Schoneberg. New sights and new experiences awaited.

wpid-20140802_174015.jpg

Having left a job to begin life as a freelance musician, the adventure was twofold. New country, new career direction. A year later and I’m beginning to get a hang of things in this strange new world. The first few months were spent living off my savings. I spent an inordinate amount of time sitting in the local park, reading and soaking up sun. I had no clue as to how to tap into the vast musicians’ network that Berlin is home to. Especially being as horrendous at networking as I am! I went to a few meetup events and attended a particular event at a karaoke place. There I met a young lady who told me of her uncle who is a drummer here, and she could put us together. I chatted with him and he gave me a plethora of names of people to get in contact with. I messaged them all via facebook and a few responded. Once that was done, I joined this vast world of musicians based here. I performed every week at a club that was based in Charlottenburg, Jagger. Said club has since closed down. (Nothing to do with me, I promise!)

10426817_853022534728111_7112609781043640673_n

As an unknown name, I obviously performed for free. I had to return to the UK in Sept to sell the last of my things. My keyboard being the most precious. I do miss it dearly. Though, I will eventually get myself a new one. I didn’t get my first paid gig till November. Since then, I have been working regularly with a group of people, performing at birthday parties, weddings etc, travelling around Germany. I have also twice performed in St Petersburg, Russia. And now that I seem to be settled with regards to events to pay the bills etc, I can start looking at forming my own band and writing my own material once again. I have thoroughly missed creating and I look forward to getting back to it.

I have since moved from Schoneberg, I now live in Friedrichshain. An area in the east of Berlin, where I find soooooo many internationals, it’s amazing.

I would love to tell you that it’s been all smooth sailing, but it hasn’t. It has been the most challenging time of my life to date. I was unaware of how safe my previous life was until I moved here. i.e knowing that every month I will have an income to pay bills etc. I have in essence, gone off in business by myself. My product, me. It’s a strange new world that I am yet to get a handle of. But if there is anything my life to date has taught me, it’s that I can do whatever it is I wish to do. No matter how strange or beyond me it may seem at first, the instant I decide I want to do it, it becomes possible.

One year done. Let’s see what the next year has in store. I remain scared and excited! 😉

Dare

FB_IMG_1424728856994

3 responses

  1. Heather forland

    TJ. Great to hear your story continues. I have a friend whose daughter lives in Berlin and is a journalist. She might be interested in doing a piece on you. Can you send me direct contact deatils and any other background pieces that I can forward on. Heather

    August 4, 2015 at 8:25 pm

    • Hi Heather, thanks ever so much. My email address is Toju3@msn.com. And what type of info do you want in the background piece? The about section on here has some of my background info…

      August 4, 2015 at 9:01 pm

  2. Pingback: Hope – “Pursuing The Unknown End” | Music TJ

Leave a Reply

