Welcome to the world of Music TJ!

Back In Italy

I’m back in Italy for a short while, working with the band Six In The City. Some amazing musicians to say the least. We’re the house band at the insanely expensive Forte Village Resort in Sardegna. I was fortunate enough that this was my first proper professional singing gig in 2011. This doesn’t count all the stuff I did with the University. I somehow view those a tad differently.

Performing at the ForteVillage resort is a huge deal for me, as the quality is immensely high and it was quite intimidating indeed. Having spent four months working here in 2011, it is almost impossible to explain how valuable the experience was to my musical career. And the confidence it builds is quite something. I’ve been lucky in that I’ve been put in roles where I’ve had to stand way outside of my comfort zone and still had to perform with confidence. There’s nothing quite like being forced to do your best. Those sink or swim situations can often make or break us.

I’ve not been on stage with a band in quite some time and I truly couldn’t wait to hop on stage again. There is always a lot of pressure to be more than good, and to do so every night. This does make me rather nervous, but despite that I couldn’t wait to hit the stage.

The one big thing about performing here is that it pushes me to improve all the time. And when I’m done here, if I’ve done well, I will feel like there is nothing I cannot accomplish. By the time I write my next blog, I will have been on stage every night for a week. I wonder if I will still have the same excitement.

(Written after the show) Ok, so the above was written before I’d gone on stage, in anticipation of tonight. The plan was simply to click “publish” once I got in. Well, I got off stage about an hour and a half ago and in reading the above, I do feel it was a tad optimistic. I’m currently rather disappointed with myself. I finished off tonight’s show, by singing ‘I Believe I Can Fly’ and I was not at all happy with how I performed. I asked the others in the band and I was told twice “You are crazy” for thinking I did badly. The bit of feedback I got for the whole night was that I just need more confidence, which comes with simply more time on this stage. Apparently I hardly put a foot wrong all night. Go figure! I still remember my very first time on stage with this band two years ago. The was an almost tangible fear emanating from me! I have been told that my voice is much better than it was then. Apparently then I had a good voice, while now it’s better. I do love that in my two years away, I’ve been able to bring something new to the group.

It’s now the afternoon of the day after and my head is a tad clearer, I think! I’m still disappointed with myself but, I quite glad to be working with people who continue to push me to do better. And I love that I’m working around people who believe I’m better than I think I am. It means they force me to be even more ambitious about my voice than I already am. I still remember many years ago when I hadn’t been singing long, being told many a time to stick to what I was good at. Stick to dancing I was told. If I had done that, I do wonder what I would be doing now that I am no longer able to dance and teach as I used to.

My aim from here on end is to keep moving in circles of people that push me to reach my potential and encourage me to do whatever it is I find I want to do. Right now I feel if I told a few of my friends that I wanted to become an astronaut, they would say, “You’re TJ, of course you can do it!” And you haven’t a clue just how liberating that is. Some of them would even start working with me to find a means of making it happen! So, no matter how stressed I currently am and no matter how much pressure I find I’m under, I know that I am incredibly blessed to have these people around me. Thanks to you all, I have done things in the last 7 years I never would have thought possible. And thanks to you, I intend to do much much more yet. I believe someone said the world was my oyster. i plan to take over the world. 😉

I just finished a rehearsal and I was told that I shall be singing ‘We Are The World’ along with 9 other singers on Sunday. You cannot imagine how excited I am about this. I absolutely love that song. If it’s recorded, I’ll see if I can provide a link for you guys.

Until next time, thanks for reading. Ciao tutti!

Leave a Reply

