Welcome to the world of Music TJ!

Cocoon

Cocoon

I need a cocoon.

I need to be away.

I need the quiet silent healing place

Far far away. Just over there.

But there is no cocoon here.

There’s only a monsoon here.

Words, suggestions and obligations.

I need to be away

Away in the place I’m no longer hurting

Where it no longer feels like I’m dying.

Slowly diminishing

Becoming less than.

Wrong direction.

It’s supposed to be more than.

The music no longer heals.

She no longer soothes.

People are no help.

They want and they want.

So I need a cocoon

I need to be away

I need the quiet silent healing place

Far far away. Just over there.

That internal light,

That normally shines bright,

Dimmer and dimmer it grows.

But by all means bring on social obligations.

To you and you I’ll make my oblations.

Don’t bark.

Don’t shout.

Don’t show the pain.

Don’t curse.

Don’t hit.

Don’t dare regress.

If I was the type to weep,

I’d weep and never stop.

But it’s not my way, not my style.

So I’ll carry on till I drop.

So I need a cocoon

I need to be away

I need the quiet silent healing place

Far far away. Just over there.

But there is no silence

There is no peace.

There is no sign of blessed release.

The walls close in.

The lights go out.

And there is no help without.

And then beneath, that thing it seethes.

It waits and it waits, my soul it seeks.

That anger that beast, that boiling rage.

How it never seeks to assuage.

Breath in, breathe out.

Is there still peace without?

It seems not, somewhere inside

Is where it must be found.

Release, release.

Release the pain.

The pain will ease.

That’s my refrain.

I need a cocoon

I need to be away

I need the quiet silent healing place

Far far away. Just over there.

Just beyond the sunset.

Maybe I’ll find it there.

When I reach that precipice.

Maybe peace will meet my ear.

A broken heart, a forgotten soul

And a mind completely dismembered.

Or should I just accept, accept my fate.

Is this how I’ll be remembered?

So I need a cocoon

I need solitude.

I need peace.

I need to be away

I need the quiet silent healing place

Far far away.

Just over there.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: The cocoon breaks open | renplus

  2. Laughing butterflies

    did you write that yourself? Amazing!

    March 29, 2013 at 3:18 pm

    • Yeah, I wrote. All the pieces on this blog (apart from the re-blogged items) were written by myself. I’m glad you like it.

      March 29, 2013 at 3:30 pm

Leave a Reply

