Welcome to the world of Music TJ!

Who I Am

Who I Am

I told you once, I am divided.
I tell you twice, I still am.
Let me tell you a little of who I really am.
Today, I slowly put myself back together.
For a long time now I’ve been in many pieces.
Somewhat unsure of the picture that belies.

Today I remember some of the things that make me myself.
Today I remember what makes me tick.
My strength was never in might of arms.
My strength was never in rebellion.
My strength was in understanding who you are.
My strength was in understanding what makes you tick.
Drying your tears and making you smile were the things that made me tick.
I forgot to hold your hand.
I forgot to dry your tears.
And I forgot to make you smile.
When I forgot to do all those things I forgot to be myself.

I sat down one day and tried to cry, but was no longer able.
Sat down and tried my best, to lay all cards on the table.
But the table moved and the cards fell, twas always unstable.
So I fought the tears and continued to smile and tell you all is well.
While slowly pushing you away from view.
Dear God what am I to do?
Aw well such is life, is fine motto I live by.
But tis not so, I hurt inside and don’t know what to do.
I don’t know how to sit and talk.
I don’t know how to tell you.
I get stuck in a stupid loop that you know all too well.
But I thank you for your time.
I thank you for your thoughts.
I commend you for your persistence,
despite my intense resistance.
“My walls are not there to keep people out.
They’re to see who cares enough to tear them down.”

I told you once, I am divided.
I tell you twice, I still am.
Let me tell you a little of who I really am.
Today, I slowly put myself back together.
Today I tell you who I am.
I am the one that doesn’t mind drying your tears.
I am the one that doesn’t mind chasing your fears.
I don’t mind fighting your demons.
For all this makes you happy.
This is who I am.
Someone once told me people wouldn’t think less of me.
This is not true.
But I no longer care.
Today I put myself back together.
The pieces fit and that’s just fine.

Leave a Reply

