Welcome to the world of Music TJ!

What Use Is A Heart

What Use Is A Heart?

What use is a heart,
When all it does is break?
What use is this heart?
When all it does is ache?
What’s the point in trying to fall in love?
When in the end all we do is break apart.
Why do we bother trying to find a friend?
When all we do is lose them?
Why do we believe in trust?
When it gets run aground?

Leave me my void.
I know it well.
Leave me my cold old heart.
No chance it’ll break.
Leave me a frozen bit of nothing.
I’ll not complain.
In the space where my heart once dwelt,
Leave me a space that’s never felt,
The warmth of touch,
The joy of peace,
The promise of simple laughter.
The insistent beating of a healthy heart
And joy forever after.

What use is a heart?
That’ll just tear apart?
What use is my heart,
Broken and torn?
Why bother to mend the pain?
Is it best to pretend,
The heart was never there?
My apologies to you who seek out this heart.
There is much work in store to mend this heart.
Putting the pieces together demands more than simple art.
But patience empathy and a warm warm heart.
If you have these and time to spare,
Then maybe, just maybe you’ll find a heart here.

But I ask you again.
What use is a heart,
When all it does is break?
What use is this heart?
When all it does is ache?

Leave a Reply

