Welcome to the world of Music TJ!

Lonely

Lonely

You cautioned me.
Learn to be lonely you said.
Learn to live alone you taught.
I learnt well.
I listened long.
I stand alone.
I live lonely.

I learnt to laugh till hysteria haunts.
I learnt to smile when sadness taunts.
I learnt to ignore,
the open hands.
The open hearts,
the open embrace.
I learnt to shun,
the love they’ve offered,
the words they’ve conferred.

I learnt to be the island I cannot be.
I learnt to be the one far out at sea.
That dot, that speck, far in the distance.
That speck that cannot be.
That one that is me.

I cannot shout loud enough.
I cannot swim far enough.
I cannot signal long enough.
For you to hear.
For you to reach.
For you to see,
who it is I have come to be.

I live my life.
Cards close to my chest.
I long forgot, the security of the nest.
Here on my island I stand.
You have no cause to reprimand.
For you taught me the stance I now take.

You cautioned me.
Learn to be lonely you said.
Learn to live alone you taught.
I learnt well.
I listened long.
I stand alone.
Now I’m exactly what you asked me to be.
I hope you’re proud.

Leave a Reply

