Welcome to the world of Music TJ!

Torn

Torn

There’s a reason,
I never give my heart free reign.

There’s a reason,
That reason allows me much to gain.

And this is why,
I did let go.
And yet,
My heart wants to know.

Why oh why did I let go?
Reason is clear,
It had to be done.
Twas not a decision,
made in the heat of the moment.

It was thought out.
Clear and sure.
Clarity of intent, clarity of thought.
Clarity of action. Made perfect sense!

And yet…
My stupid heart,
Sings a stupid song.
I should tell you, I should tell you.
I should tell you, I should tell you.
Nothing, I should tell you nothing.

And yet, with knowledge of my heart comes pain.
Why must the heart exist?
I’d like to return.
Return to my blissful lonely ignorance.

I know that pain.
It’s familiar, it’s mine.
Why swap it for this unfamiliar pain?

As you read this,
Which I know you will.
I wonder what goes through your mind.
Do you see? Do you really see?
Do you see that I’m torn?

I let go. I should, I did.
Yet my heart, in stupid hope,
Still stands and hopes you’ll prove your truth.

To prove your truth,
There is no ease.
I cannot map your route through the trees,
If you will, if you won’t.
Such is life, even if you don’t.

But, there’s hope yet for my mind.
As my mind it still reminds.
In that not too distant future.
These wounds of mine, my mind will suture.

And you, my dear, my wonder, I can’t soothe
For my heart will indeed bid you,

a final adieu

2 responses

  1. Shawna

    This is so good:

    “There’s a reason,
    I never give my heart free reign.

    There’s a reason,
    That reason allows me much to gain.”

    May 5, 2012 at 5:37 pm

    • Music TJ

      Thanks ever so much. I’m glad you like.

      May 5, 2012 at 5:46 pm

Leave a Reply

