Welcome to the world of Music TJ!

Tonight I Let Go

I wrote this, like a number of the others I’ve added today, a while ago. Just finished the song for this. Once I’ve recorded it, it’ll be up on my facebook page. Go ‘like’ it. 😉

 

Tonight I let go

Tonight the stars lost their sparkle.
Somehow they seem dim.
Tonight the sky seems so much further away.
An insurmountable challenge.
Simply because, tonight I let go.

Should I have done?
Should I have not?
The die is cast.
The coin is tossed.

I should tell you, I should tell you.
I should tell you, I should tell you.

I heard it told once before that
“In the kingdom of hope there is no winter.”
Well I gave up hope a while ago.
And tonight I let go.

Tonight I let go my belief.
My belief in simple things.
Tonight I let go my trust.
My trust in happily ever after.

Tonight I stand tall and say
“You lie who call it summer!”
For it is cold in this place.
This place I inhabit.

This place where the sky is black.
Tonight, in this distant hour.
This lonely hour.
My heart returns to its hiding place.
A place I can no longer find.

You who would come for this heart, to seek solace.
You who would come for this heart to seek love.
Be gone from this place of desolation.

You’ll not find joy here.

You’ll find no peace here.

Tonight I let go any hand outstretched claiming to have hope.
Tonight I let go.
I let go a promise I made to you.

In that grim darkness away from view.
And as I grit my teeth to prevent the tears.
Plant my feet, to fight off my fears.

I pray and hope, hope and pray that in letting go I don’t hurt me more.

All I can think is…
I should tell you, I should tell you.
I should tell you, I should tell you.

NO.

Tonight I truly let go.
I let go of my sanity.
Tonight, I let go of me.

Leave a Reply

