Welcome to the world of Music TJ!

Smile

I’ll smile for you.

Because that’s what you want.

I’ll laugh for you.

Because it seems that’s what you need.

 

Does it matter that the laughter is empty?

It seems not.

Does it matter that the smile goes not farther than the lips?

It seems not.

 

When did we become so shallow?

As to need no depth from liaisons?

I’ve tried to be what you want.

I cannot.

 

I’m still, in many ways, what you need.

But you don’t like the challenge.

So I shut my eyes

Grit my teeth.

Shake off that need.

And smile.

 

Neither true to myself, nor true to you.

But I must smile?

No, I’ll not smile for you.

I’ll not laugh for you.

I’ll not amuse you at my expense.

 

Nor will I cry

Or mourn the loss of you.

Your substance was never here.

So I never had anything of you.

And so I’ve lost nothing.

 

I’ll smile for those whose hearts warm mine.

I’ll smile for those who offer support.

I’ll smile for those who’ll dry my tears.

And I’ll certainly smile for those who know my fears.

 

You have what you want.

Shallow laughter.

Soulless smiles.

For you, it would seem.

Cannot run that extra mile.

 

So, I’ll smile for you.

Because that’s what you want.

I’ll laugh for you.

Because it seems that’s what you need.

Does it matter that the laughter is empty?

It seems not

One response

  1. smile perfect for dis world…………..

    May 5, 2012 at 5:59 pm

Leave a Reply

