Welcome to the world of Music TJ!

KUSU President Farewell.

As many of you are aware, I shall be leaving my post as Kingston University Students’ Union president as of 1 July 2011.

I wish to extend my deepest thanks to all students and staff at the university. I have thoroughly enjoyed my time as the KUSU president. The post I’ve held over the last two years has been the most exhilarating and challenging post I’ve had to date. I’ve loved being challenged by students and staff alike. I have thoroughly enjoyed working alongside academics that are exceptionally passionate about their subject and have teaching it.

I have been privileged enough to represent such a diverse body of students, whose views are so different that the only way to even have a chance at getting a glimpse of what the whole student body wants is to live, breathe, laugh and cry with the students. The journey has been quite a learning experience for me. I’ve sat with students as they’ve dealt with the rigours of their everyday lives. And then tried to reconcile this with my role on the Board Of Governors and the myriad of committees that I sat on during my time here and cannot. They seem such a world apart, in many ways they most certainly are.

This is exactly why Students’ Unions are exceptionally important. We are to help bridge the gap between the organisation and the students themselves. And in the years to come, when students’ views/opinions become even more important, as they begin to pay even more for their tuition, it is absolutely essential that the Board of Governors, KUSU and the University work closer than we ever have to make sure we’re all trying our utmost to ensure we continue “Making Life Better for Kingston Students”. I have all faith in the incoming president, Chris Dingle, and I hope that you can support him as you have done me. He has the same drive to push forward with ensuring students views are at the forefront of all that KU does.

It has been my honour to represent the students of Kingston as best I could. I’ve not always known the right steps, and at times I’ve made them up as I’ve gone along but, I am proud to say that two years down the line my manifesto promise of having a union that is as “Loud and as proud as I am” has been, to some degree fulfilled, for we are much louder now than we were two years ago.

Thank you ever so much!

I have no regrets.

TJ Esubiyi

Leave a Reply

